15.06.19 > Approaching Madrid (PHotoESPAÑA 2019)

All-focus

Fig. 1 Eraser purchased from the Museum Shop of the Museo National Centro de Arte – Reina Sofia

Arriving in Madrid for a three day visit to PHotoESPAÑA 2019, I immediately knew I had to find that token, that specific memento, that would bring me back to this experience of looking out the airplane window as it made its approach to Barajas Airport across olive groves on an undulating landscape.

Now, whenever I look at this pebble sized object that sits easily in the palm of my hands, I will forever enter the experiences that follow my approach to Madrid, forever looking at alternative perspectives of surfaces in which I can identify new pieces of myself (Fig. 1).

Saturday 15 June 2019

All the colours are the same. All the colours are different shades of mustard, yellow, orange and olive.

Patchworks like Paul Klee images. And cotton wool clouds in 3-D, their shadows just a surface on the landscape.

Mustard land transmutes into a porcelain blue sky, endless until the horizon.

Like floating above a sea of gold, like a Klimt painting …

All-focus

Fig. 2 Surfaces & Strategies Workbook excerpt 15.06.19

All-focus

Fig. 3 Surfaces & Strategies Workbook excerpt 15.06.19

Leave a comment