23.08.19 > Joining the dots to reveal the photographer

In looking for a way forward for my art photography I need to step outside of my comfort zone, deconstruct myself, and understand – and explain – how I arrive at my visual artistic expression. How do I start from a theme, a concept, then move through exploration of subject matter, techniques and perspectives (further still explore my response to life), so as to arrive at the final emergent artwork: aka my artistic strategy.

My artwork unfolds into its photographic self on a support – a surface – whether that be the printed image hanging in a gallery, in a photobook, on advertising billboards, as a presentation during an artist talk or workshop, shown as a poster, as a projection, on digital screens, or as holograms: aka my chosen artistic surface.

In The Surfaces and Strategies of my Photographic Practice (August 2019) I attempt to explain and critically analyse how my photography fits together.

Asakusa #1 Blended B&W

Asakusa #1, Sunday 7 July 2019, Asakusa, Tokyo (© 2019 Gordon Sutherland)

Leave a comment